Guide to ETC SCQF-accredited modules


The qualifications have gained SCQF accreditation for six of the ETC modules.


The following ETC modules are SCQF-accredited and we can deliver any of these as required by organisations:

 Working with Young People in Sport

 The Human Connection

 Benefits of Sport and Physical Activity

 Communication

 Goal Setting

 Conflict Resolution



What is different about the SCQF-accredited modules?


The delivery of the SCQF-accredited modules is very similar to the CPD-accredited versions, but requires learners to complete a small number of short answer questions in a written exercise. These questions have been designed to be straightforward and learners will be supported to complete them where required. Answers are marked by our course tutors, feedback is provided, and there is a chance to make edits before submission.


These are then reviewed by the delivering unit, who also issue SCQF certificates for those who have achieved the accreditation.


What is SCQF? The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework Partnership promotes lifelong learning in Scotland. Through the Framework you can gain a better understanding of qualifications in Scotland and plan your future learning.


The Framework supports everyone in Scotland, including learners, learning providers and employers, by:

 helping people of all ages and circumstances access appropriate education and training so they can meet their full potential

 helping employers, learners and the general public to understand the full range of Scottish qualifications, how qualifications relate to each other and to other forms of learning, and how different types of qualification can contribute to improving the skills of the workforce Benefits of SCQF-accreditation

 Helps learners decide how to progress their learning

 Helps individuals understand qualifications they are not familiar with

 Helps employers understand different types of qualifications and also supports effective workforce development

 Helps education and training providers of all kinds to identify the level that has been studied in a particular subject and make it easier to transfer credit points between different learning programmes

 Provides recognition of a very wide range of learning types

How does it work?


By using two measures, the level of a qualification or learning programme and the number of credit points awarded, the Framework helps you understand and compare the various Scottish qualifications. The level of a qualification indicates the level of difficulty and the number of credit points indicates the length of time it takes to complete.


The levels and credit points together allow learners, learning providers and employers to compare different qualifications at the same or even different levels. SCQF Levels The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework has 12 levels. The different levels indicate the level of difficulty of a particular qualification. SCQF Credit Points Credit points are a way of showing how much time it takes, on average, to complete a qualification or learning programme.


One SCQF credit point represents an average of 10 hours of learning time, which includes everything a learner has to do to achieve the outcomes in a qualification including the assessment procedures. Where does ETC fit in?


Each of the ETC modules sits at Level 5 on the SCQF scale, apart from Communication, which sits at Level 4.


Each module is equivalent to 1 SCQF credit point.